Domestic Violence

The term domestic violence refers to any sort of physical, sexual or psychological abuse towards one’s spouse, partner, or any other family member within the household.


Domestic violence means “abusive behavior – emotional, psychological, physical, or sexual – that one person in an intimate relationship uses in order to control the other. It takes many different forms and includes behaviors such as threats, name-calling, preventing contact with family or friends, withholding money, actual or threatened physical harm and sexual assault. Stalking can also be a form of domestic violence” (as defined by New York State Coalition).

Types of Domestic Violence

Physical violence

It includes :

  • Any kind of direct physical violence that can range from undesirable physical contact to rape and murder.
  • Indirect physical violence, including destruction of objects, throwing objects near the victim, harm to animals

Mental/emotional violence

It includes :

  • Any type of verbal threats including threats about physical violence to the victim, the self, or others including children
  • Any verbal violence, including threats, abusive language, insults, attacks, etc.
  • Nonverbal threats that include gestures, facial expressions, body postures, and so on

Economic/social abuse

It includes :

Having control over victim’s financial possessions and any other economic resources; disallowing victim from meeting friends and relatives; and isolating victim from any sort of social contacts.

If you or your near ones are a victim of any of the above violence and want any sort of domestic violence defense, you don’t need to worry from now onwards. We are there to help you with our team of expert domestic violence lawyers. The team of our domestic violence attorney will guide you and take you out of such troubles in a legal and systematic manner

Related Articles

We provide Expert Legal Assistance in following States

  • Alabama
  • Alberta
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • British
  • Columbia
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Dallas
  • Delaware
  • District Of Columbia(D.C.)
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa Irving
  • Fort Worth
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Maryland
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Ontario
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • San Antonio
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Vemont
  • Virginia
  • Washinghton
  • West Vorginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
  • South Carolina
  • Souyh Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah